Home > Uncategorized > Our Bali holiday

Our Bali holiday

On Friday, we drove to Darwin and caught a plane to Bali and then went to the supermarket for supplies before coming back to our accommodation and getting the kids settled into bed.

Confused?  It’s only make believe. One of the many games we were involved in with young Holly Muppet as we were privileged to have her for a sleepover on Thursday night and looked after her on Friday while mummy went on a girly weekend to Queensland and daddy had to work.

As most of my regulars would know, we’ve been involved with Muppet since she was born and have become her surrogate grandparents.  Muppet’s Mum once kindly said that we would have made “awesome parents” and I have to humbly agree, but hey, it’s even more fun handing them back so the parents can do the hard yakka!

Playing games with her suddenly brings back a lot of early memories from my childhood and I find it easy to get engrossed into her fantasy world too.  Damn, does this mean I’m regressing into my childhood and the end is nigh?

So be it, but we all have a lot of fun, and after a few games, dinner was served.  She isn’t a fussy child and will eat most things but a little bribing was required to finish the last few morsels before the promised dessert.

Then it was off to bed but not before a few stories and someone else decided the open blanket box would be a good place to curl up for the night.

As I said, this kid can eat anything, even axle grease, which she consumed on three pieces of toast for breakfast.  Then after more play, it was off to the Nature Reserve for a picnic and a walk to look for creatures.  We didn’t see any but we did lament over the dry water hole, stopped for a break and did some nature study and even Elly was interested.

MM sent us a couple of pictures while were there and Muppet was most impressed that Piggy even went on the trip with mummy.  Then she sent us a picture of her crossing to North Stradbroke Island off Brisbane just to prove she was actually there (the Photoshop course she is doing could be useful).

Of course we don’t have to compile elongated blog entries just to prove we’re great surrogate grannies but it helps!

  1. March 28, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    If I stand on my shed roof I can just see Straddie from here. Actually, I spend a lot of time on my shed roof.

    Steve – Begs the question, why? Good looking bird sun baking next door?

  2. Scott from Oregon
    March 28, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    Ya gotta love the new crop!

    Scott – They seem to have the smarts from an early age. Maybe I was just dumb. BTW, I’ve included a couple more links; one with the old crop and the new crop.

  3. March 28, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Actually, birds do have something to do with it. Our shed is surrounded by native trees and the lorikeets and possums we have in care love the flowers and new leaf shoots. All the best bits are up high.

    Steve – Sounds plausible. Just don’t fall off.

  4. AZ
    March 28, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Miss Muppet is a young lady! How did that happen? She was just a baby a few weeks ago! I was going to ask if Ellie was the same Ellie I remember her carrying around as a toddler, but that picture says it all, it’s the same Ellie, well loved and hanging tough.

    AZ – Yes, she is certainly growing up fast. Yes, Ellie/Elly is the same one and still going strong.

  5. March 28, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    I haven’t seen a photo of Miss Muppet for a while and I must say that she is getting SO grown up – the wispy hair has been replaced by a lovely style with very nice fringe.

    You guys all look great!

    Is vegemite referred to as axle grease all over the place or just in the Dogbait household?

    Peggy – She’s not far off 5 now and is at kindergarten this year. I told her yesterday that she was so smart that she could miss school. She said that she still had to go to school because she still didn’t know how to read the big books yet. Of course!

    Axle grease is just my term for the foul stuff and I’m about the only Aussie in the land to detest it. Mothers feed it to their young early here and they get hooked on it. Fortunately, my first three years were beyond the stuff.

  6. june in florida
    March 29, 2009 at 3:18 am

    Wow Ms. Muppet is getting so big,better start saving for that pink T.Bird graduation gift.Marmite was my thing in England,is it the same?I don’t know about you but reading about all your activities made me tired, nap time.

    June – I’m told by my reliable sources that Marmite and Vegemite look the same but are quite a different taste. Irrelevant to me.

    Not sure about the pink T-Bird but would be happy to live long enough to see her graduation.

    I tried to get her to play my new game called “Napping”. When I explained the rules, she said “But I don’t need a nap”, and I said, “But I do!”

  7. Muppet's Mum
    March 29, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Thanks for looking after Muppet, I’m never sure who has more fun on these sleepovers, her or you!

    MM – It’s all fun, fun, fun! And then nap, nap, nap!

  8. AZ
    March 31, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Responses right under the comments! I like it!

    AZ – I thought that might please you. Neat and tidy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

