Home > Uncategorized > Mmmm!

Mmmm!

We visited our lovely niece, Laura, a couple of days ago and she lives about 1½ hours away.  Her pear tree is shedding fruit by the shipping container load so we brought home a boot full and MP stewed up a heap for freezing.  MP also has a recipe for Honey-baked pears with ricotta so we tried some out last night.  Mmmmm!  Very nice.

 

Then, last evening we had a visit from a couple of friends who came around to view the new paint job.  I’d say they are more than happy with our handiwork.

 

  1. Muppet's Mum
    March 20, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Mmm, the pears are yummy, I agree. And yes the puppies love the new paintwork. Although you know they’ll eat your bird and fish food off anything!!

  2. thomashouseman
    March 20, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Puppies!!!
    They look like very friendly happy dogs!

    Not so sure about Ricotta on pears… but each to their own.

  3. june in florida
    March 20, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    Pears and ricotta sounds yummy and a bit late but that deck looks great, good work you two. Good for another 10 years? Another little bump and grind, getting closer are they?

  4. Laura
    March 20, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    You have me hooked on the pear recipe….had dad over for tea on Wednesday and we had some then and just had mum and chris here and we had them AGAIN….maybe that should do for this week! 🙂

  5. March 20, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    COMMENT REPLIES

    Muppet’s Mum – I just discovered that sand stands out like dog’s you know whats on that deck.

    Thomas – I said the same about the Ricotta too but you’ll change your mind if you taste it.

    June – Actually only good for 2 years I’m told.

    Laura – We just traded a bin of pears for a bin of apricots with Muppet’s granddaddy and grandmummy.

    Shammy – Check the comment above to Laura. Now it’s up to our ears in apricots.

    My meter reading made me semantic about the verandah/porch issue.

    Scott – Merbau. Link here gives a good description. That extension where we have our table and chairs, well I can tell you there are 900 nails in that lot ’cause I hammered them all in. You have to pre-drill otherwise you split the wood at the edges so I’ve never tried it without drilling but I could imagine it would be like steel. I’ve seen some decks done with a nail gun and they look awful.

  6. March 21, 2009 at 12:33 am

    My son has lots of pear trees on his 2 acres, and a couple of years ago there were enough pears to sink the Queen Mary. We had pears with everything! Delicious. But I didn’t try them baked with hony on ricotta, sound like I would like that!
    Your deck looks good. And thanks for the comment on my blog…. porch or verandah… I use both descriptions, in fact, I just posted a pic of another one.

  7. March 21, 2009 at 12:34 am

    perhaps I need the pear recipe!

  8. Scott from Oregon
    March 21, 2009 at 4:46 am

    What is that deck wood again?

    Don’t you guys also frame houses with it?

    I remember trying to hand nail studs in Queensland, even I couldn’t drive a nail without bending it.

    Marumba… Katumba…???

    Ahh, what was it?

  9. March 21, 2009 at 8:51 am

    I still like verandorchonyoop.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

