Home > Uncategorized > Another retirement

Another retirement

The planets weren’t aligned too well for me today and my mojo decided to go walkabout for my final day. 

It was unusually muggy right from the word go so I sweated all morning.  My back gave me more grief than usual, I got a rare headache and I was bitten by two dogs and a tiger snake.  Okay, I made the last two up but you get the drift.

This was my last reading today before heading to pasture.  Three gates, two horses, three dogs and a pregnant woman.  Sort of an apt way to finish up.  Make it as difficult as possible for DB before he goes.

I was about to head into the office and off-load all the equipment when I got the call that they would send a passing MR to pick it up from home so that at least saved me a 60k round trip.  My mojo had returned!

Three weeks of toil and servitude and I’m knackered.  I’m looking forward to sleeping in again followed by some exercise other than walking followed closely by a leisurely breakfast and a read of the paper.

Will I do it again? 

Maybe if I get the desperate call again.  A few thousand lazy buckaroos doesn’t go astray.

  1. AZ
    March 14, 2009 at 6:22 am

    That last stop was a good distance away from your home!

  2. March 14, 2009 at 7:16 am

    COMMENT REPLIES

    AZ – About 23k’s (14m). That would have been about the furthermost distance I worked on my rounds when fulltime.

    June – No major stuff this year. We have a lot to do around the house and then maybe see some more of Oz.

    Scott – We had a huge concert at the MCG over the weekend for the Bushfire Appeal and all these old bands made a comeback. There is always a spark of life left in us all!

    Shammy – Yes, ma’am 😉

  3. june in florida
    March 14, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Retired again, time we started hearing mutterings about the next trip isn’t it.

  4. Scott from Oregon
    March 16, 2009 at 5:10 am

    I remember seeing The Who’s “Final tour” back in 1981…

    I saw it again in ’93…

    Don’t be like The Who…

  5. March 16, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    I certainly hope you’re going to take it easy for a few days and play hard to get if they do call you back. Nice to know you’re wanted though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

