Home > Uncategorized > Bring back summer

Bring back summer

A couple of days ago, I sweating like a pig out on the track and now I’m freezing my man boobs off!  It looks like autumn has arrived with vengeance but methinks a few hotties are still lurking.  It was around 16c today but it felt downright freezing.

I’ve caught up with the backlog in St Leonards and will have a bludge Friday before taking another newbie out for testing on Tuesday followed by another bout of retirement.  Monday is the Labour Day holiday here which we celebrate by not doing any.

Nothing much exciting has been happening while out and about.  A lot of holiday homes around here so not many people or dogs to interfere with my daydreaming.  I saw some black clouds coming and the car was close so I donned the rain gear which was fortuitous as it thundered down for all of 60 seconds.  I didn’t mind as it was a real novelty to see this strange stuff falling from the heavens.

Muppet’s Mum is in hospital this weekend having her gall bladder removed so we wish her all the best.  Dr Muppet might have to be called upon to assist.

When desperate for news, some animal photos make good padding.  The first photo is of Smokey Muppet, who obviously likes lounging around on his own little settee.  Or is it for Muppet’s babies? 

The wind was blowing a gale the other day and all these cockies were seeking some shelter down by the lake and making a right racket too.

  1. March 6, 2009 at 6:14 am

    So funny. You are having 16C and you think if feels like freezing!
    We have 16C predicted for Friday and I bet we’ll see people out in shorts and shirtsleeves driving their convertibles with the top down.
    Hooray, Spring is coming!

  2. agan
    March 6, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    same here, we’d be happy if the temperatures over here would finally decide to get up into the two-digit numbers… and I’ve had it with the rain, too.

    btw – the pic of the cockies reminded me – do you have rosellas where you live?

  3. March 6, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    COMMENT REPLIES

    Shammy – It’s like if I came to Ontario in winter. I’d be dead in a day!

    agan – I thought you were a newbie but your IP address tells me you were last here in September under a different name. Welcome back to the comments!

    We have tons of rosellas, red rumps and lorikeets here. Our trees are usually full of Eastern Rosellas. Check out a blog from a few weeks back which shows a lot of lorikeets at our friends place nearby.

    By the way, send some of that rain here please.

    agan – It was a delight to watch those parrots antics in the bird feeder. We’re only 6k away but we don’t get many Lorikeets but plenty of Rosella’s and Red Rumps.

    Gabrielle – When I was out working on Thursday, I saw a flock of 100’s of cockatoos approaching and I made dash for shelter in case I got bombed.

    Scott – With frozen man boobs, you don’t have to wear a bra.

    muscat55 – I’m with you with summer. Let’s hope we’ve seen the worst of it.

    June – We visited MM in hospital this morning and she is a bit sore but is recovering well. Should be home on Monday.

    AZ – Our health system is far better than in the USA especially if you are uninsured. If insured like MM and ourselves, you can expect the best and elective surgery gets done quickly. I’ve just had a text message and she’s waiting to be signed out by the doctor and will be home on Sunday afternoon.

  4. agan
    March 6, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    sorry, I did remember I left a comment some time ago, but I didn’t recall the tag I used then. I promise to try & stay with this one from now on so you’ll know who’s who.

    Lovely photos in that post, btw.

  5. March 7, 2009 at 3:10 am

    That cat is saying, “If you disturb my sleep, I am going to swallow your soul.”

    I love watching wild birds fly around. It is my dream to see hundreds of parakeets flying from tree to tree.

  6. Scott from Oregon
    March 7, 2009 at 4:54 am

    “”sweating like a pig out on the track and now I’m freezing my man boobs off! “”

    So THAT is how to remove man boobs!

  7. March 7, 2009 at 11:39 am

    This year DB I’ll be glad to see the back of summer! Our bird chorus is back in the morning, and I’m hoping that means the end of the bushfire season. We have not had more than a few drops of rain for weeks on end, but have had lovely cool nights, we are expecting 27’C today, but may not reach that as it is still cool.

  8. june in florida
    March 7, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Hope MM feels better soon,she has a great in house physician to help with the recuperation.

  9. AZ
    March 8, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Wow, health care must be more caring in OZ, when significant other had his gall bladder removed they sent him home the same day as his surgery. Then again significant other is a big baby and they probably got tired of him complaining about the pain, I know I did ;o) !

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

