Home > Uncategorized > From rags to riches

From rags to riches

I was back in Queenscliff on Wednesday afternoon, from the downtrodden to this and this.

 

The old wharf area at Queenscliff had been upgraded and looks a lot different than when I was here last

I read the shopping area and MP came over with me to have a wander around the shops and a coffee while I did an hour’s work.  Or so I thought. 

At one place, which I last read 18 months ago, I used to have one reading and now I did 125.  An old motel had been converted into units and sold with titles and each had a smart meter with 5 readings each.  I had to abort the rest of the shops and head back home to upload as time was running out.  

The town was buzzing with people and one shop owner said, ”What recession?”, when I remarked on how busy the place was as it’s usually fairly quiet after the holidays.  She reckoned that the bushfires had forced all the tourists away from the fire areas and Wilson’s Promontory and were coming over the Bay to Queenscliff and the West Coast instead.

Incidentally, we’re not in recession yet and there is debate whether we will. 

From what I saw on Thursday and Friday, Queenscliff will be spared!

Time will tell for the rest of us.

  1. june in florida
    March 2, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    There seem to be these little areas that for some reason seem to have been spared.Hope for them it stays that way.Must have been quite a suprise with that motel.Ferry looks like the Nantucket and Martha’s Vineyard ferry’s,do they take cars?

  2. March 2, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    COMMENT REPLIES

    June – The ferry does take cars and even these.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

