Home > Uncategorized > I’m a daddy

I’m a daddy

February 22, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s the weekend so I have no dog babble stories but Muppet always provides excellent fill-in material.

To refresh your memories, Holly Muppet is our surrogate grandchild.  This little 4½ year old buddle of energy and joy is the daughter of our very good friends, Muppets Mum and Daddy (MM and MD) and I have occasionally reported on her antics in the past.  So just a few more for your entertainment.

We took MM out for lunch on Saturday for her birthday at a local restaurant, and after Muppet ordered, she turned to us and said, “I just ordered with my best manners”. 

I can confirm they were impeccable too.

MM snapped this on the way out and you don’t get to see too many pics of us so you’re privileged.  We look too young to be grannies, don’t you think?  Don’t answer that! 

I was playing with her on Saturday while MP and MM had a run and I told her to stay as a child and never grow up.  She exclaimed loudly, “But I want to grow up because then I can use the sharp knives and help mummy with the dinner”.

The simplicity of childhood.

Our participation in “The Game” is usually just as props but you are always an integral part of any game as daddy, mummy, big brother or big sister.  Fortunately I’m not called upon for the female roles!  Games are usually made up on the fly by Muppet which requires no thinking on our part but a degree of fitness can be an advantage especially crawling around the floor or dancing on the trampoline.

As the daddy and mummy, we had a strenuous day shopping with the children before getting back to the “apartment” and then a battle getting them down for their afternoon nap.  I tried to convince her that I needed a nap too but she exclaimed, “We’re retired so we don’t need naps”.

Gee, kid, do I have news for you!

  1. February 22, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Gosh! She’s growing so fast!!

    You guys look great!

  2. February 23, 2009 at 5:47 am

    COMMENT REPLIES

    Peggy – She certainly is. We look great? Wish we felt it!

    June – Do you think we let this kid rule our lives? Don’t answer that.

    muscat55 – I thought that would get a reaction.

    caramaena – Too quickly I’m afraid.

    Muppet’s Mum – I can see a lot of her mother’s traits in her. Ego isn’t one of them!

  3. june in florida
    February 23, 2009 at 9:44 am

    How come your not wearing pink,thats the official Muppet team colour. You all look great though.Wonder what the pic at the end of the day looked like?

  4. February 23, 2009 at 11:59 am

    With a heading like that I couldn’t wait to read all about it! You all look terrific, she is a very impressive little child, but my how she has grown.

  5. February 23, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Oh my she’s growing up fast! A great photo of the three of you 🙂

  6. Muppet's Mum
    February 23, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    What a gorgeous kid! Must take after her mother 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

