Home > Uncategorized > Life returns to normal

Life returns to normal

February 1, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

The heat wave has passed thankfully and we’re back to more sane temperatures.  The rest of this week is forecast to be in the mid to high 20’s.

Beautiful for the start of the school year tomorrow and MP and I are really looking forward to our beach runs and swim in the mornings free of the annoying thrip taking over everything.

No more of this and plenty of this from now on.  We hope they all had a nice holiday and never come again.

  1. February 2, 2009 at 12:25 am

    I was going to say I can’t believe someone would block a thoroughfare like in that first pic, but I can, having shoulder charged someone in KMart once that was having a conversation blocking a doorway, then giving them a dirty look when I heard the word “rude” mentioned. Some people just don’t have any perception of what’s going on around them.

    As far as the heatwave is concerned, apparently it’s moving north. Some people have no perception of what’s going on around them. We in the tropics have humidity to deal with as well.

    I bet you wish you were back in the mountains, I wish I was.

  2. February 2, 2009 at 10:07 am

    We still have at least a week more heat up here in NE Vic. To add to our woes we had a dry thunderstorm roll around for a long while last night, lighting a few fires, and although not immediately in our vicinity, (Yackandandah and Kiewa) we are getting their smoke, never a good omen.

  3. February 2, 2009 at 11:04 am

    COMMENT REPLIES

    Steve – That’s another of my favourite pet hates. I think I would have given them more than a dirty look. I really have a problem with ignorant people.

    muscat55 – You are getting it bad. At least being by the sea has it’s advantages.

    June – Unfortunately, no rain on the horizon but we desperately need it. Good on you with broadband. Now I don’t have to worry when I post large pictures!

    Brian I have no interest in how much tourists bring into the town. The businesses support a permanent population of 11k, and since the tourist season is about 5 weeks a year they rely more on us than them to survive. I have no objection per se to these people coming here and I’m willing to tolerate it for 5 weeks but it is the “rude inconsiderate rubber neckers”, intolerance, vandalism, drunken behaviour, atrocious manners and woeful driving that I object to. So you’d be willing to tolerate that in your town for the good of the economy? Not me I’m afraid.

    As for “strip mining beaches”, or “lakes filled with mining tailings” etc, you’ve lost me.

    Thomas – When did you cop that? I’ve looked up the recent history for Sydney on Weatherzone and you haven’t had anything that severe. Maybe out in the suburbs?

    shammy – Any season other than summer and it will be fine. If you ever come out here in the future, make sure you drop us an email beforehand.

    Thomas – Oh, I was looking backwards. I was going to say you can’t blame us for that but I’ve checked the weather charts, and you are right, and it’s the same high still lingering over NZ and you’ll cop those dastardly north winds.

    shammy – About 90 minutes “near” by car. Check the arrows on the the map here.

    Thomas – Not our doing, mate. We’re all sharing the same High. A vicious one at that too. Fortunately we will be getting a big cool change in the arvo.

  4. june in florida
    February 2, 2009 at 11:38 am

    I guess they do own the road.That beach looks like a littered street, so much nicer without crowds.Glad its cooling down for you,any rain in your future? I am now on broadband! Installed it myself this morning, piece of cake.

  5. February 2, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Not wanting to poop on the party, but how much does tourism bring into the local economy? Is it not better to have some inconveniences of rude inconsiderate rubber neckers than say strip mining the beaches for minerals, or having your lakes filled with mine tailings, air polluted with toxins and the like of a mine in the area.
    I am not an advocate for anyone, just wondering what is brought to the local economy, and if no tourists what would the business people look at next to boost the economy?

  6. thomashouseman
    February 3, 2009 at 9:55 am

    Thanks for sending your 45° weather to Sydney…. NOT!

  7. February 3, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Glad it’s cooled off in time for the kids to go back to school. There was quite a bit about your Aus heatwave on the Canadian news, expecially about the Aus Open. I watched the last part of the match when Nadal beat Federer… and I cried a bit along with Federer cos he looked so devastated!
    And as for tourists being rubberneckers and rude, I promise never to be either when I next spend time in your lovely (but hot) land.

  8. thomashouseman
    February 3, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    It’s predicted for Thursday.

  9. February 3, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    I was in Melbourne in 2003… stayed with a cousin in Ivanhoe. Is that near you?

  10. thomashouseman
    February 6, 2009 at 8:32 pm
  11. thomashouseman
    February 8, 2009 at 8:13 am

    I’m jealous of your cool change! Still 31° at 8am here… Heard about all those bushfire deaths down your way 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

