Home > Uncategorized > Doctor Esky

Doctor Esky

January 28, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I started out training my old mate today and we got in 4 hours before the heat really hit.  It actually hit the PDE first because it expired under the relentless sun.  My mate was trudging up the street and said nothing was working and all my efforts failed to get it started.  I suspected it was heat stroke so we went back to the car and I shoved it into my Esky cooler for 10 minutes and it fired up again with a reboot.  That lasted another 10 minutes when it failed again so we got the message and went home.  The temperature was starting to hit 40c so that was a rather sensible decision.

This is a huge round, and with training someone, would take over 12 hours to complete.  I rang LIT and told them, that under the circumstances, I’d have to complete this round over three days given that tomorrow and Friday were going to be 44c and we were only working in the mornings. 

The round isn’t final day until next Monday but they said that wasn’t acceptable to BIT because “rules” stated that it couldn’t be read over more than 2 days.

The broadside that followed can’t be quoted in full as this is a family blog (most times!).  Trying to contain my apoplexy, I told them that a quick phone call to BIT would surely elicit sympathy and an exemption as I figured that they would at least have some inkling of H&S practices and would be more than reasonable.

After that BS (broadside or bullshit, take your pick) they did indeed contact BIT who I found out via the back door were more than happy to grant exemptions in these trying times.

I think I’ll hop into the Esky now and cool off. A reboot for LIT wouldn’t hurt either.

  1. antikva
    January 28, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Lucky for them! In Nth Qld when it hits 40C everyone gets sent home, although I’d guess the humidity would factor in as well.

  2. January 28, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    So watcha have for breakfast? I had tea and toast, vegemite on one half and anchovette on the other.

  3. January 28, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    What I don’t understand is how they expected you to work if your PDE couldn’t take the heat. Anyway surely ‘Worksafe’ should have kicked in somewhere. They actually sound more inhuman as time goes by.

  4. January 28, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    COMMENT REPLIES

    antikva – They’re more interested in their rules than the welfare of their workers

    Brian – Very subtle humour there.

    muscat55 – See my comments to antikva. Tomorrow is my last day with this organisation.

    Gabrielle – PDE stands for Portable Display Equipment. It’s an old term but I’m an old guy! This Hand-held is obviously faulty and they are sending a replacement down this morning via courier. We have 4 days to read them or else is a big fine for the contractor.

    Muppet’s Mum – Yep, the spa got a flogging. Wandered up and down the dairy aisle at Safeway for an hour as I couldn’t make up my mind which yoghurt to buy.

    June and muscat55 – I think my brain has been sufficiently fried to make me incapable of a rational decision!

  5. January 29, 2009 at 12:20 am

    I never heard of any our hand helds(what you call PDE) dying under any weather circumstances. It gets pretty hot here, too. There are many days in the summer that it breaks 104f(40c) when you consider the heat index and stuff. I’m really sorry you have to be out in that stuff. I don’t miss it at all.

    There was this one time that a dog bit my hand held and took off with it. Considering they cost $10,000(at least that is what they said), I was very afraid I was going to lose my job. Thankfully, I was able to retrieve it without any real damage – just teeth marks.

    I think we had a window of three days to read a meter, but it may have been two. I can’t recall right now. Either we read them during those days or they were considered no reads and the customer was estimated. If we estimated too much, our contractor, SCE&G, would get very mad and threaten to take their contract else where. Eventually, they did. The company I used to work for no longer exists.

  6. Muppet's Mum
    January 29, 2009 at 9:46 am

    I feel for you today! Just heard on the radio it’s already 44 in Torquay and 39 in Geelong and it’s not even 10 o’clock! The spa beckons!!!

  7. june in florida
    January 29, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    We have Osha over here, protects workers in hazardous working conditions. I guess Worksafe is somwhat the same.One of those executive types should walk along with you on your rounds.So are you definately out now?

  8. January 29, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    DB I have heard you say that before, do you REALLY mean it this time?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

