Home > Uncategorized > The heat is on

The heat is on

January 25, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

My dread of any summer is a prolonged heat wave and it looks like we’re having one next week.  35c on Tuesday, 40c on Wednesday and Thursday and a “cool” 34 by Friday.  Can’t wait!

To top it off, I had an old mate who is in transition to retirement ask about a meter reading job and they are going to employ him.  I got a call on Friday from LIT asking if I would do the training for 3 days and I agreed at the usual Dogbait rates. 

So what days are we hitting the track?  You guessed it.  The 40 degree days!

I’m going to get started by 7am and just work with him until lunch and then head for the surf and stuff it if we get behind.

In the 3½ years I did this job, I successfully managed to avoid stinking hot days by putting in a burst before one hit and having a very short oven day or none at all.

  1. January 26, 2009 at 5:42 am

    Too hot? I haven’t been too hot in years. I’m sorry you and your fellow Aussies are going to cook. It must be awful. Over here our house is turning green. We’re going to have to power wash it again.

  2. January 26, 2009 at 6:22 am

    COMMENT REPLIES

    Peggy – Does your house get mouldy?

    Thomas – Those temperatures aren’t common in Sydney. For us, being at the bottom of the continent means north winds are terrible in summer.

    June – I only did 2 weeks after Christmas and now 3 days this coming week.

    muscat55 – I bet you the prognosis will be kaput.

    Brian – Actually the beach is lousy on stinking hot days. We have a spa and just hop in and soak in that all day.

    shammy – We have to put up with a few days of extreme weather but you guys have had to put up with a whole season of it. I’ve always said it’s easier to get warmer than cooler but your temperatures are an exception.

    Brian and shammy – I think we’re all having a burst of the extremes at the moment.

  3. thomashouseman
    January 26, 2009 at 8:06 am

    We had a 43°c stinker here in Sydney a few days back… was horrible.

  4. june in florida
    January 26, 2009 at 10:09 am

    We are warming up a bit here,75 degrees this week.I thought you had meter read a lot longer.

  5. January 26, 2009 at 10:11 am

    and the refrigeration expert is not due to look at my not working air conditioners until at least Wednesday!

  6. January 26, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    One chistmas day in Liverpool it got up to 110 in the old reading, the ‘hot ice’ in the concrete laundry tub could not keep the drinks cold.
    Not sure the beach would be the best palce to cool off, then maybe the currents are cooler down there.

  7. January 27, 2009 at 2:00 am

    I’d love to have a burst of warm weather, it seems to have been frigid here for so long… it’s forecast to be down to -17C at night most of this week.
    Lots of people are booking holidays in warmer climes, even though there’s a recession and people can’t really afford it! I don’t mind winter and snow and ice as long as the temp doesnt go lower that -10C… it’s when it gets down to the -teens and -twenties that I hate it. I don’t know how Brian stands it up there in Labrador.

  8. January 27, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    With increasingly great difficulty.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

