Home > Uncategorized > Surf’s Up!

Surf’s Up!

January 22, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I ran around the Nature Reserve early today and what I find surprising about this 150 hectares of bush land in Ocean Grove is how underutilised it is by the locals.  A few odd tourists use it during the holidays but I run there 3 to 4 times a week and I wouldn’t have seen more than five people there in the last 12 months. The Nature Reserve probably deserves an entry on it’s own with a few pictures so I’ll do that soon.

This next bit is for my northern hemisphere readers, who I believe, are suffering from a bit of a nip in the air.  News reports indicate that things are so bad in places that even Jack Frost has emigrated Downunder!

A savage north wind here means two things; nasty, hot weather and great surf.  My run ended up at the beach and then I hit the surf with barely a pause to strip off the gear.  Even 30 metres from shore and you had to dive under the waves they were that big.  I ended up catching a couple of great waves and the power was such that you didn’t need flippers to get a good ride off them.

The place was teeming with pubescent wannabe surfers donned out in wet suits most of whom were falling off their Santa surfboards in regular monotony.  I thought fondly of the same scene in 11 days time when these acne heads were back at school and I had the place to myself. 

My dream was soon interrupted by the realisation that I’d probably be the lone shark bait instead of all this youth masquerading as dolphins and good tucker for the White Pointers.  Then again, the Baby Boomer wannabe surfers would probably come back too and help lessen the odds.

We’ve had about three shark attacks in Oz this summer ranging from a guy getting nipped on the leg and then punching it on the nose for good measure to another being masticated big time. 

You never worry about it when you are out in the surf and the odds of been taken arrrrrrrrrrrh

  1. January 22, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    It must be Jack’s little brother, Big Jack is still up here I assure you.

    Making me pain with those surf anecdotes mate.

  2. june in florida
    January 23, 2009 at 12:46 am

    29 degrees here this morning and expecting a high of 53 today and yes i am still in Florida.

  3. January 23, 2009 at 2:41 am

    Yeah, it has gotten rather cold here lately. One night it dipped into single digits. That hardly ever happens here in South Carolina.

  4. AZ
    January 23, 2009 at 4:44 am

    We’re smack dab in the middle of a heat wave, we’re breaking records in Arizona temp in the high 70’s to low 80’s for several days. I went for a walk last night and everybody in the neighborhood had their front doors open, but by midnight we got a little rain.

  5. January 23, 2009 at 6:39 am

    COMMENT REPLIES

    Brian – I’ll take the sun and surf than the fridge.

    June – Holy, moly, that’s HOT!

    Gabrielle – Can’t think old imperial temperatures off the top of my head but I gather it’s cold.

    AZ – Another one quoting ancient text! Ditto as per Gabrielle above but slightly warmer.

    Muppet’s Mum – She’s just a nice seal size too. If that happened, we’d call it Rabbits Revenge!

    shammy – The water is quite mild from December until April. Probably around 20-22c and Queenslanders would probably scoff at that but it’s very refreshing. 20 minutes without a wet suit is about enough before you start getting cold. We get sharks around here too from time to time but you don’t let it worry you. About the same odds as being on a plane crashing into the Hudson!

    I know how cold it is your way as I get the weather forecasts for all my regular bloggers and they also show me at times. You can have that minus stuff though!

    I know June was quoting Fahrenheit. Just me being facetious about my American friends and their antiquated imperial system.

  6. Muppet's Mum
    January 23, 2009 at 9:01 am

    No problem, we just take Bugalugs with us as shark bait!

  7. January 24, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    when you dip in the surf, is the water cold? I remember swimming on a beach on the S coast of W.A. near Albany…. the water was FREEZING! And I felt very nervous about the possibility of shark attack. But perhaps the sharks prefer a warmer environment than the edge of the Southern Ocean.
    Lots of snow here in S Ontario, the piles of snow either side of my driveway are higher than my head. It’s 0C right now out there but it’s supposed to go down to -20C tonight. Get the hot water bottle ready.

  8. January 24, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    I think June’s temps were expressed in Fahrenheit!!! Not Celcius. Cold, not hot!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

