Home > Uncategorized > Doctor Dogbait

Doctor Dogbait

January 20, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Not too much earth shattering news to enlighten you about at the moment. 

A rush of friends and rellies broken computers to fix has kept me busy for a bit.  The rubbish that gets onto peoples computers (not yours, Loz) always bemuses me and it gets to the stage where it’s a waste of time doing a clean up and so it’s time for Doctor Dogbait’s scalpel.

A lot of people look for the cheap option when buying a computer and end up with something with minimum specs.  For a few bucks and a bit more RAM and then a reformat of the hard drive, it turns out to be a cheap upgrade and a computer able to breathe again.  The owners are usually amazed at the improvement and they think I’m a legend and I have to humbly agree.

I got a phone call from LIT yesterday asking if my pay was correct and did everything go well with my recent meter reading stint.  You can see what’s coming here, can’t you.  They’re not renowned for this level of concern so I told them retirement was going fine thanks and it’s staying that way but I would help out in extreme emergencies only at the emergency rate.  I was told a job was always only a phone call away. 

The tourist season is nearly over and only two weeks more until school holidays finish and all the campers piss off head home.  MP and I can’t wait and life can get back to normal and the beaches go from this to this.  One of the pleasures of life is a run along the beach and a swim early in the morning with hardly a soul around.

And to finish.  Saw this bloke while crossing the bridge the other day.  No Steve Irwin jokes please.

Also, we have a resident dolphin in the river and I’ll see if I can get a decent snap of him when the rubbernecks depart.

  1. January 20, 2009 at 8:25 am

    I really hope you get a good photo of the dolphin!! The beaches look lovely even when there are loads of humans on them.

    Do you guys get the box jellies where you live?

  2. thomashouseman
    January 20, 2009 at 8:57 am

    Stingrays are hard to photograph aren’t they…
    This one I took at Lorne was as big as a VW. Pity the photo’s don’t do them justice!

    http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/Mz-aJZ5PzsyVpFH9_JJJUA?authkey=emsbDshn2dU&feat=directlink

  3. January 20, 2009 at 8:57 am

    COMMENT REPLIES

    Peggy – Actually the empty beach photo was adjacent to the crowded one at the same time so we shouldn’t complain.

    No box jellies down our way. QLD has most of the nasty stingers. We just have the occasional shark but we just brush them away!

    Thomas – To get a good shot, we should get Peggy out here and give us scuba diving lessons and get the underwater camera.

    I took the liberty of having a squiz at your other photos. Goodness, you have a clan there! Per chance, are you the old codger with the grey hair and matching beard? My clone!

    Thomas – Oops, a couple of blues! Just shaved some decades off your age. A scuba diver, eh. No excuse not to get some good underwater shots of a big ray.

    Brian – Yes, but you should see that beach on a hot day like today.

    Peggy – All our English visitors over the years have been blown away with the scenery and wildlife.

    Loz – Anyone who knows how to use a file manager and has their baby photo folders numbered to keep them in monthly order is mega organised. No rubbish on your machine. I’d build your friend one but I like to keep these in-house so I only have rellies to deal with if something goes wrong.

  4. thomashouseman
    January 20, 2009 at 11:54 am

    Ha! You obviously missed the album called Thomas’s 33rd birthday 😛
    You’re probably referring to my father.

    Oh I’m Advanced Open Water SCUBA certified too… but with the new addition to the family… I’m somewhat restricted in free/time to go diving.

  5. January 20, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    You beat me to the punch; I was going to suggest that the empty beach shot was adjacent to the rubber necks beach shot. And that is not a crowded beach by any shot of the imagination, ever been to any of Sydney’s beaches?

  6. January 23, 2009 at 5:16 am

    There is nothing I would like more than to visit Australia and photograph your marine life – and the birds – and those crazy marseupials – and any passing lizards or snakes!!

  7. Loz
    January 23, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Don’t worry, I can imagine my computer probably had more rubbish than anyone’s!!
    Actually, if you wish to just stick a little toe out of retirement I had a friend over yesterday who was blown away but my amazingly awesome computer and was thinking of putting in an order for one – i told her she should get her own retired computer guru uncle, i’m not sharing mine 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

