Home > Uncategorized > Pass the smelling salts

Pass the smelling salts

Some of these major account rounds I’m doing are quite short especially when you get to know precisely where all the meters are located.  LIT rang last week and asked if I would take on some extra walk rounds too and I readily agreed especially as I’m paid a bonus for all the rounds I complete and I enjoy the exercise.

When you do a walk round, you always hope for a day which I refer to as “being in the slot” or a “rhythm day”.  That usually means you flow along quickly, you’re not all thumbs with the PDE, you gracefully avoid hazards and generally the day ticks along smoothly.

Well I can assure you last Friday wasn’t one of them.  It thumped down rain just as I started work, and then on the second house, I discovered a problem that threw my whole day out and rhythm became very ragged.  See if you can guess from this photo.

Now, the numbers 0 and 1 pretty well runs our lives with anything electronic these days.  It also runs a meter readers life as “0” is the most commonly used key on the PDE and this one had obviously had enough of being thumped all the time and decided to jump ship.

It was no point looking for it but I discovered you could put in a 0 by punching the circuit contact with a metal biro and so I continued on and completed the round in that fashion.

I read a meter by holding the PDE in my left hand and can punch in the numbers with my left thumb while holding meter box lids open with my right hand.  So now it became a two handed operation and a thorough pain in the butt all day long.  In fact, it took me close on an hour longer to do the round which didn’t please me one little bit.

I reported the problem to LIT in Melbourne and had a replacement PDE delivered to my home by 5:30pm that afternoon.  I also rang again when I finished the round and was told by the new scheduler that he had co-ordinated the location of the walk rounds for this coming week with the major car rounds so as to make it easier for me.

Someone please pass the smelling salts!

  1. june in florida
    January 5, 2009 at 3:48 am

    Be very suspicious Db, they are being too nice.Either they hired someone with a brain(besides you of course) or they want something else.

  2. AZ
    January 5, 2009 at 4:20 am

    The way the numbers are arranged on the PDE is very strange, in the US the numbers always begin 1, 2, 3, at the top, 4, 5, 6 in the middle position, and end with 7, 8, 9 at the bottom with zero in the same position as the PDE, are your TV remote controls configured like the PDE?

  3. January 5, 2009 at 5:43 am

    COMMENT REPLIES

    June – As you say, seems they have someone with a few brains.

    AZ – Not so strange actually. The 0,1,2,3, are the most commonly used keys and are designed to be the closest to the thumb. About 80% of all meter readings start with those numbers. Our TV remotes are the same as yours.

    Thomas – EVERY ONE ends in a zero as we have to round out the readings. I was tempted to due an actual reading but a lot start with a zero anyway so the pen was already tapping away.

    Roy – Yes, I know who you are, Roy. The missing button was like walking around with one leg!

    PD – Thanks. I don’t care much for birthdays and hope they will slip past quietly but people keep reminding me! Actually, MP and I just remembered this evening that it was our 30th wedding anniversary so that tells you how important we take these things.

    AZ – Does it hurt? I hope you’re not insinuating that MP would do that to me! If I was to offer an opinion, I’d say about as painful as a dog biting ones goolies off.

    Peggy – Thanks for the birthday wishes. They come around too often though. Yes, a competent scheduler makes for happy meter readers.

    Brian – Uh, uh, uh. Where am I?

    shammy – Slowly awaking

  4. Thomas
    January 5, 2009 at 8:43 am

    So how often did you round and ending zero into a one? 😛

  5. January 5, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Anything to do with the missing button?

  6. January 6, 2009 at 2:14 am

    Hey, DB!!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

  7. January 6, 2009 at 2:15 am

    AZ, telephones and remotes have the 1-2-3 at the top but adding machines have them at the bottom.

  8. AZ
    January 6, 2009 at 3:58 am

    PD, you absolutely right and all I had to do was look down and to my right, I wonder why remote control people didn’t follow the standard set by adding machine designers, everyone followed the standard for keyboards… didn’t they?

  9. Thomas
    January 6, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Oh.. typo, sorry. I meant how many times did you round up any ending zero’s into one’s?

  10. AZ
    January 7, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    Hey DB! I just heard on the news that an irate Aussie wife set her husband’s privates on fire…

    does it hurt?

  11. January 7, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Who hired the competent person at the office??!?

    I’m shocked as well!

    Happy Birthday!

  12. January 11, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    The smelling salts don’t seem to be working, give him a wee dram to jolt him awake.

  13. January 12, 2009 at 8:56 am

    You haven’t posted since Jan 4.
    Obviously those smelling salts were waaaay too strong.

  1. February 25, 2009 at 7:20 pm

Stick your pennies worth here

