Home > Uncategorized > Fred and Myrtle

Fred and Myrtle

December 31, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve been reading along the coastal towns and battling massive crowds all wandering aimlessly around the streets because it’s not beach weather.   In fact, it’s been one of the coolest Decembers for years but I’m not complaining while I do this job.

I had to visit several camping and caravan parks and people were all sitting around looking bored out of their brains.  This is the time of the year when the local rag sends it’s cub reporter down to interview some Fred and Myrtle who proudly announce that they have been coming to the same site for 50 years.  As I said, everyone to their own, but a prostate check with a red hot poker would be more appealing to me.

A brief respite from the hordes took me out into the country where I had to visit a pump station at a local reservoir.  Now what looks odd about this photo? 

Yep, it’s a chain made totally from locks!  Obviously there are several organisations wanting access to this facility through this gate but am I naive to think that they should put on one lock and issue keys to all the relevant parties?  I’ve come across these more than once where we have been locked out because some cerebrally deficient bod had put their lock back between two links and left our lock hanging in the wind.

Anyway, it’s New Year’s Eve and I hope all my faithful readers have a good year in 2009.

  1. December 31, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Do they have combination locks down that way? Of course you would have to stand on your head to read the number.
    Have a great new year my man, same to the family. Don’t forget my dog stories made up or otherwise.

  2. thomashouseman
    December 31, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Bolt cutters 🙂

  3. December 31, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    COMMENT REPLIES

    Brian – I can’t lie. I didn’t see a single dog all day. Have a good 2009 too, mate.

    Thomas – I could use them on the rubbernecks too!

    June – Thanks June. I hope that 2009 is a good one for you too and I’ll keep babbling on as long as there are babbling things out there.

    Peggy – Thanks too Peggy and the same to you too.

    As long as we can get in, then I don’t mind. It’s those little oddities in this job that gave birth to this blog.

    AZ – As I speak, we are 8 hours into 2009 and you still have 10 hours to go. Try and keep up! A Happy New Year to you and yours too.

    muscat55 – And the same to you too.

    Scott – I was asked, I was offered, I accepted. One more week to go.

  4. june in florida
    January 1, 2009 at 3:48 am

    A very happy, healthy and prosperous New year to you and yours Db. Many thanks for your hard work keeping us entertained.Happy New year all.

  5. January 1, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Happy New Year Reg!

    Love the locks photo! It’s actually not a completely rubbish idea, just odd and kind of fun.

  6. AZ
    January 1, 2009 at 7:43 am

    I’m late! Just saw video entitled “Aussies and Kiwis Ring in 2009” HAPPY NEW YEAR SORTA KINDA LATE!!!!!

  7. January 1, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Happy New Year!
    Your lock solution sounds too simple and life was not meant to be easy.

  8. Scott from Oregon
    January 4, 2009 at 4:38 am

    they put you to work again?

    Lordy.

    Is there no retirement anymore?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

