Home > Bike > The Coffee Bitch

The Coffee Bitch

A mate was on the blower this morning asking if I wanted a ride.  I was somewhat reluctant considering the forecast was for a top of 11c with frequent showers.  The radar showed a lot of rain activity around but his glass half full was overflowing with confidence that we would dodge them.  I succumbed when he offered to shout me a coffee. 

We rode to Geelong into a screaming headwind warm in the knowledge that the return trip was going to be bloody awesome.  The rain started spitting with ominous black clouds approaching when I heard him shout that we should head straight to a nearby Maccas.  I don’t know if you guys overseas have McCafe’s attached to the Golden Arches but the only decent thing made by that gut busting organisation is the good lattés that they can produce. 

We were sipping our caffeine and scratching our heads at the gathering of the local chapter of the Obese Society when the heavens opened and there was no way we were going back out into that maelstrom.  It took half an hour and two mugs of coffee before we ventured outside when the rain stopped and the sun appeared.  My mate pointed to the clear skies and said we were set for a nice dry run home.  Wrong! 

Half way back it pelted down again and we were soon soaked to the skin even with rain jackets on.  I told my mate it was time to start emptying some of his glass.  Before the rain came, I managed to get another photo of where those cockatoos from the previous post were perched on thin air.  Because Oz is at the bottom of the planet, gravity isn’t anywhere as strong as the northern hemisphere and so birds can perch stationary in the air without settling on something static.  Anyway, I grabbed another photo to prove my point.

8mm of rain today which doesn’t seem much but it managed to flood the track again and turn slabs of it into a quagmire.  Our average winter temperatures here is around 12-14c and it was 7c when we started at 9am and 7c when we finished 3 hours later.  Now that’s brass monkey weather!

My mates phone number has now gone into the pest category under Caller ID.

  1. june in florida
    August 10, 2012 at 10:33 pm | #1

    How about a picture with a zoom lens and that gravity thing, hmm?

    I thought that photo gave away the secret.

  2. August 13, 2012 at 10:54 pm | #2

    I see the wires! You can’t fool me!
    BTW coffee is FREE at McDonald’s this week…. in my neighbourhood anyway.

    I bet it’s just that black swill they have serve from a fish bowl and not the real stuff.

  3. june in florida
    August 14, 2012 at 10:27 pm | #3

    Must remember to put my specs on.

    Not easy to see those power lines.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Stick your pennies worth here

